DIY candle making

I don’t remember when I started liking (and buying) scented candles but I remember one of my first candles were from Bath & Body Works from this store in Taipei (in Shida night market) called Jordan who imports and sells Bath & Body Works products.

Some time last year, T decided to buy materials so that I could make candles on my own. He bought soy wax, wicks, essential oils and dyes. I had never “found the time” to do it until Lorraine mentioned that she was into scented candles as well. We decided to do it one Saturday afternoon.

We looked up a bunch of resources online and basically followed instructions from The Spruce Crafts’ blog post & Standley Handcrafted’s video.

Note to self: should put more drops of the essential oils in for the scents to be stronger. I thought that we had put enough in but apparently not because the smell faded a bit after the candle cooled down.

We also tried mixing the primary colors to create secondary ones! That was fun. At the end of our session, we had 2 candles each – so pretty!

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑