[Nicole in Taipei] Ooh Cha Cha, CKS Memorial Hall, Heritage Bakery, and Pier 5

Ooh Cha Cha is one of the healthy food restaurants that I tried and liked – because of both the taste and price. I took Nic there for brunch and we were the first customers. When we entered the restaurant, the smell of freshly blended nut milk (if I’m correct?) wafted in the air. Smelled so good!

I’m happy that Nic liked the food as much as I did, and we even took a couple of photos for the ‘gram. Since I tried their mushroom bowl last time, I tried the Brunch Plate 早午餐拼盤 (280NTD) this time around.

I was surprised by how flavorful it is! It was my first time having tempeh, and I didn’t know it would be really salty and firm. The Brunch Plate contains tofu scramble, house-made focaccia, tempeh bacon, sliced avocado, pea sprouts, arugula & tomato salad, and cauliflower almond ricotta.

I also got the iced latte (100NTD with a meal) to pair with my food and it was also yum. It’s espresso with grain milk and coconut milk.

After eating and to burn off the calories, we walked to Daan Park for a stroll. Nic also wanted to recreate her “sleeping on the bench” photo from 7 years ago when we were in Spain so we found a bench and I took her photo. Then, she told me that she wanted to go to CKS Memorial Hall to take photos of their tile floors. We ended up having a mini-photoshoot session around the area. I’m pleased with how a lot of the photos turned out. I now have a new profile picture on FB and IG. Hahaha!

By the time we were finished, it was already snack time (well, in our minds at least). I asked Nic if she wanted to try the best carrot cake I’ve had in Taipei and she was up for it.

I took her to Heritage Bakery and she was very satisfied with their carrot cake because “it tastes just like the carrot cake my mom makes!” On the other hand, I ordered their famed pecan cinnamon rolls but was disappointed because it’s airy and the pecans in the slice I got were pretty nonexistent. I still prefer Tamed Fox’s cinnamon rolls. We brought our own reading materials and spent the next couple of hours reading our own stuff, which was nice.

In the late afternoon, we left for Pier 5, which is a new development the past year. It’s this small area in Dadaocheng Wharf with “food trucks” that sell food items ranging from pizza and beer to fries and gelato. I had heard that it’s a good place to chill and watch the sunset, and on some Saturdays, there’s also a live DJ/band.

We passed by a food truck selling charcoal fries and Nic was interested so that’s what we tried. It tasted like regular french fries, a really greasy one at that.

For the 3rd time that week, we were able to enjoy the sunset.

 

 

 

 

 

 

One thought on “[Nicole in Taipei] Ooh Cha Cha, CKS Memorial Hall, Heritage Bakery, and Pier 5

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑