Live King Crab 帝王蟹 at Chuan Lang seafood restaurant 川郎活蟹海鮮料理

I really think that one of the best decisions I’ve made in my (work) life was helping out the F project team 5 years ago. I have reaped a lot of benefits since then (in terms of learnings and mostly in the form of food hehe).

Truth be told, I never thought that I’d be able to eat live King Crab because I know how expensive it can be. But for this quarter’s dinner gathering, they decided to eat at Chuan Lang seafood restaurant (川郎活蟹海鮮料理), which is popular for its live King Crab. Basically, the crabs are placed inside an aquarium and you choose which one you like. They weigh it and tell you how much it is.

N and I actually thought that we would just order seafood dishes (excluding live King Crab) but D was like, “of course we’re here for that!” So now I can finally say that I have eaten live King Crab, woohoo! They typically serve it 4 ways – the carapace(body) and some legs are cooked in a large pot of soup together with other hotpot ingredients and veggies (帝王蟹大鍋), some of the remaining legs are grilled (炙烤帝王蟹腳), the tomalley crab fat is served with steaming hot bread slices (咖哩蟹膏佐哈士麵包), and the shoulders (? I’m not really sure which parts they are) are steamed with a whole lot of chopped garlic (蟹身蒜蓉蒸). Yummy!

咖哩蟹膏佐哈士麵包

炙烤帝王蟹腳

蟹身蒜蓉蒸

Aside from these, we also ordered shrimp balls (果律蝦球), cereal prawns (麥片蝦), scallop radish cake (干貝蘿蔔糕) and squid from Penghu (澎湖冰卷). We were so excited for all the food! Everything was so delicious!

果律蝦球

麥片蝦

干貝蘿蔔糕

澎湖冰卷

The crab meat was moist and sweet, and the other seafood were equally fresh and flavorful. I’m glad to have had this experience.

Visit date: October 2020

4 thoughts on “Live King Crab 帝王蟹 at Chuan Lang seafood restaurant 川郎活蟹海鮮料理

Add yours

Leave a comment

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑